Archive for the Ming-liang Tsai Category

Ming-liang Tsai

Posted in 50 Directors Summary, Ming-liang Tsai on December 11, 2009 by Kanpoj K.

Ming-liang Tsai

He was born on 27 October 1957, Kuching, Malaysia.  He went to Taiwan and study at the Drama and Cinema Department of the Chinese Cultural University in 1982. He began his career as a theatrical producer and TV director. His first film was Xiao hai (1991). In 1994, he directed his second film Ai qing wan sui (1994). It won the Golden Lion for Best picture at the Venice Film Festival in 1994. All of his feature films have starred Taiwanese actor Lee Kang-sheng. His films The River (1997) won the Berlin International Film Festival, The Hole (1998) won the 1998 Cannes Film Festival and The Wayward Cloud (2005) won the Berlin International Film Festival.

His interesting films

Ai qing wan sui (1994)

The River (1997)

The Hole (1998)

The Wayward Cloud (2005)